The Gaskell Society
The Gaskell Society Committee

Dr Shirley Foster
Shirley Foster is Honorary Senior Research Fellow, retired
Reader in English and American Literature, at the University of Sheffield. Her academic interests are the nineteenth-century English and American novel, and travel writing, and she has published in all these areas. Her most recent publications include an anthology of women’s travel writing, a literary life of
Elizabeth Gaskell, and articles on Gaskell, American visitors to Britain, and literary tourism. She has also edited Sylvia’s
(Penguin) and Mary Barton (Oxford). She is currently working on Henry James and others of his compatriots
in Italy.

Vice President
Francesco Marroni

Professor of English "G. S Annunzio" University, Pescara, Italy, where he is Director of the Centro Studi Vittoriani e Edoardiani.

Author of books on George Eliot, Charlotte Bronte, Henry James and Elizabeth Gaskell. He is a distinguished writer of short fiction in his own country, and has published several volumes of his stories.

Vice President
Jenny Uglow

Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. Editorial Director Chatto and Windus

Author Elizabeth Gaskell a Habit of Stories, Hogarth, Cultural Babbage, The Lunar Men; BBC Classic Serial historical consultant. Reviews for radio TLS, Sunday Times and Guardian

Ann O'Brien

Vice Chairman
Elizabeth Williams

Clive Heath

Pam Griffiths

Membership Secretary
Christine Lingard

Minutes Secretary
Celia Crew

Committee Members
Jackie Tucker
Janet Allan MBE
Libby Tempest
Kate Smith
Pauline Kiggins
Shirley Rea

Newsletter Editor
Helen Smith

Web Editor
Catherine Westwood

Journal Editor
Rebecca Styler

We regret to announce the sad news that Committee member, Ian Emberson died suddenly on Monday 4th November 2013

back to the top of the page

Gaskell Memorial, Knutsford. 1907